Cycle Track Committee- Inactive

This committee was formed in 2016 to relay the concerns of the neighborhood regarding the recently installed cycle track and other traffic calming measures that coincided with the repaving of Roland Avenue. The issues identified have been wide ranging but many revolve around safety (negative impact on disabled residents, difficulty for vehicle passengers and drivers getting in or out of the cars particularly in the commercial block and in front of St David’s, blind spots when emerging from some side streets, pedestrian and cyclist safety). Among other issues are the losses of parking and confusing or conflicting signage. The committee will be working actively with the city to resolve these issues and also to provide input into the Department of Transportation (DOT) evaluation process.

NOTE: this committee is no longer active as of May, 2017.

Related DOT and RPCL updates will continue to be posted here.


Cycle Track Committtee Update– presented and uploaded 10/5/2016

City Review Scope of Services – document uploaded 11/13/2016

Timeline for Approval of Cycle Track – document uploaded 11/28/2016

Cycle Track FAQs – presented at community meeting 02/9/2017

Cycle Track Survey Results – presented at community meeting 02/9/2017

Pro-Cons of Cycle Track Options – presented at community meeting 02/9/2017

Cycle Track Committee End of Year Report – presented at Annual Meeting and uploaded 5/21/2017

Evaluation Memo on Roland Avenue Cycle Track prepared by ALTA – uploaded 5/21/2017

Letter to City, 6/6/17 – uploaded 6/8/17

Cycle Track: Next Steps – uploaded 9/19/17

BCDOT Evaluation Study 09-22-17 Draft

Fall 2017 Update

Roland Avenue Update-BCDoT Letter 1/23/18

Community Position Statement – 4/12/18

BCDOT 5 Options for Roland Avenue-6/14/18

RPCL Poll Results-7/11/18

Path Forward: RPCL and BCDOT-7/19/18

DOT Changes Underway on Eddie’s block-8/12/18

Important Update from Bob Connors – 3/19/19

Mayor’s Decision on Roland Avenue and University Parkway Corridor – 3/29/19

Roland Avenue Update– 4/24/19


Chris McSherry
Andrew Marani, Chair
Tracie Choi
Leslie Goldsmith
Mary Kay Battafarano
Joel Schildbach
Evynn Overton
Robert Marinelli
Matt Eshelman
Dan Levitov
Henry Kay, WIA